Mental Capacity Act (MCA) & Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards (DoLS) Awareness

This course gives a comprehensive overview of The Mental Capacity Act and Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards

Service users should always be viewed as having the capacity to make their own decisions, unless proven otherwise. This course enables participants to understand what mental capacity is and, should capacity be lacking, what can be done legally to support service users. The course covers all aspects of the Mental Capacity Act and Deprivation of Liberty safeguards and offers advice on how to assess capacity using the Bournewood Judgement.

  • Average study time:
    study time

    1 hrs

  • Personal development points (CPD):


  • Price:


Please enter the number of licences required.

Course Details

Mental Capacity Act and Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards Awareness course details:
  • Clear, attractive format
  • Real-life scenarios help illustrate key points
  • With videos and graphics to make an enjoyable learning experience
  • Written by an expert with over 20 years experience of health and social care training

Benefits for you

Mental Capacity Act and Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards awareness forms an essential part of many different qualifications and learning frameworks. If you are working towards any of these, it is important to appreciate to what extent this course helps you in your goal.

This course has been mapped to the following (where it is applicable) –

The Care Certificate

  • 9.6a Explain what is meant by the term “capacity” 
  • 9.6b. Explain why it is important to assume that someone has capacity unless there is evidence that they do not 
  • 9.6d Describe situations where an assessment of capacity might need to be undertaken and the meaning and significance of “advance statements” regarding future care

Course Syllabus

Section 1 – Introduction

  • Learning Objectives
  • Mapping 
  • Meet The People 

Section 2 – Overview of Legislation and Guidance 

  • Introduction 
  • The Mental Capacity Act 2005 (MCA) 
  • Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards (DoLS) 
  • Other relevant Legislation and Guidance 
  • Care and Quality Commission (CQC) Duties 
  • Health and Social Care Act 2008 (Regulated Activities) Regulations 2014: Regulation 9 – Person-centred Care 

Section 3 – Mental Capacity

  • Introduction 
  • Helping people to make their own decisions 
  • Lacking Capacity 
  • Assessing Capacity 
  • Who should assess Capacity? 
  • Best Interests 
  • Advance Decisions 

Section 4 – Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards (DoLS) 

  • Introduction 
  • Managing and Supervisory Bodies 
  • Types of DoLS I - Urgent 
  • Types of DoLS II - Standard 
  • The assessment process 
  • Other people and bodies involved with DoLS (and MCA) 
  • Supreme Court Ruling 19th March 2014 
  • Death when subject to DoLS 

Section 5 – Statistics


                                    +21,000 STUDENTS        +9,400 COMPANIES          +100 COUNTRIES